The Obligatory Introduction

15 Sep

Welcome to my fourth blog.

Blogs 1-3 were created for various writing groups and classes, and they always felt a lot like working.  This blog is for fun.  And as a 41-year-old English teacher (high school and college) with a four-year-old daughter, I have a lot of time for fun.

The blog will focus on my ten-year dream of buying a touring bicycle and heading out on the open road.  Hopefully there will be a lot of family touring in my future, perhaps when my daughter graduates beyond Wal-Mart bikes with Dora and Disney Princess paint schemes, or maybe, just maybe, when I entice my wife to take to the open road on a shiny new Trek.  (She, though, might appreciate a Disney Princess paint scheme.)

But for now, the dream of touring on two wheels is just for me.  And this blog will chronicle those misadventures.  And since I’m a literary nerd, expect some of the kind of conversation you only get at the water cooler in the teacher’s lounge.

 

John

 

P.S.  Actually, we don’t have a water cooler in our teachers’ lounge.  Just three microwave ovens and lots of dead roaches with Lean Cuisine residue on their little lips.

P.P.S.  You should really follow me on twitter.  I’m told I’m hilarious.

 

 

Leave a comment